Portobello Mushroom Burger

My SO wanted hamburgers for lunch today. I, too, craved a good burger. However, I have been so good with my diet this past week that I immediately thought of alternatives I could have. I quickly remembered the portobello mushroom burger idea and thought I’d give it a go!

image

The result: an excellent burger that doesn’t leave you bloated!

Sauce for the mushroom:
– some oil (olive preferred but I used vegetable, about 1 tablespoon)
– balsamic vinegar (about 2 tablespoons)
-minced garlic (to taste)
-ground black pepper to taste

I also added tumeric for the reduction of inflammation and a little bit of thyme.

Stir the mixture, soak the mushrooms in mixture for about 15 minutes. I only made two mushrooms, so adjust recipe accordingly. After they’re dishes, grill for about 10 minutes or however long you want.

I used while wheat thin buns from tesco. Topped with avocado, lettuce, tomato, red onion. A pickled cauliflower sauce on one and horseradish on the other (mine was NOT plant based sauce, so beware! This was my exception for the day).

Finally, enjoy! It was surprisingly delicious and spicy!

Leave a Reply

